top of page

Bridgerton: To Sir Phillip, With Love

Eloise was always depicted to have a mind of her own and not necessarily conform to all the traditional standards and courtesies of society. This strong headed mind of hers is what eventually leads her to be still unmarried in her late 20s.


Bridgerton: To Sir Phillip, With Love (by Julia Quinn)

Published in 2003


 

Let's start with my reading records before getting into the book:


  • I started the book on the 12th July 2022 and finished it on the 21st July 2022.

  • Out of those 10 days I had 4 active reading days.

  • My edition had 372 pages

  • 19 Chapters + Prologue & Epilogue


(I am mentioning the epilogue because Julia Quinn also published another book, Bridgerton: Happily Ever After where all of the epilogues and second epilogues of all 8 siblings are included)


I liked the book. Gave it a score of 3.5/5 *

Tags:

Romance; Historical Fiction; 17th Century; Drama; Spicy Scenes; Cunnilingus; Step-parent; Reality vs expectations; Running away from home

Trigger warnings:

Abuse: Emotional & Physical; Suicide; Depression; Physical punishment


 

Despite the fact that Sir Phillip tends to be sweet, his relationship to his children is disappointing as I, personally, think that Eloise deserves better. While keeping Sir Phillip's childhood and relationship between him and his father in mind, the distance he keeps to his children is understandable due to his own trauma but definitely not an excuse.


I enjoyed the writing of the children because is seemed real, children, emotionally neglected by the only parent they have left, craving attention and causing trouble wherever they can. Rather than the interactions between Eloise and Phillip, the story behind Eloise and potential stepchildren was what kept me reading. Overall I enjoyed reading this story despite Phillip occasionally robbing me of my composure.


Side note: This book has the best spicy scenes of Bridgeton so far. And even if Sir Phillip does not appear to be the best parent (understatement), he surly is one of the best lovers. And I must give him credit where credit is due, he is the most caring lover in bed and has never attempted to pressure or strongly convince Eloise to bed him which cannot be said of most of the other husband contenders of the past within the Bridgertonverse.





1 view0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page