top of page

Poppy War

The grab that this book had and has on me is maddening. I am too invested in the characters, scared of what will happen next, terrified of who is going to die in the 2nd and 3rd books. I get overly attached to characters when a book truely reaches me. This by itself is technically a good thing, but this attachment is keeping me from finishing the other books of the trilogy.


Poppy War (by R. F. Kuang)

Published in 2018


 

Let's start with my reading records before getting into the book:


  • I started the book on the 29th June 2021 and finished it on the 9th July 2021.

  • Out of those 12 days I had 7 active reading days.

  • My edition had 527 pages

  • 26 Chapters


Fantastic and complex story. Well deserved 5/5 *

Tags:

Fantasy; Schamanism; Academia; Historical Fiction

Trigger warnings:

War; Death; Violence; Substance Abuse; Genocide; Abuse; Human Experiments; Torture; Rape; Starvation; Bullying; Classism; Misogyny


 

Rebecca F. Kuang uses the typical YA formula of a young hero being thrust into a magical academic setting where they learn that they are the chosen one. However, The Poppy War is definitely not a casual read for the faint of hearts. YA turned into NA. Despite the various graphic and violent scenes within the book, the story is heartbreakingly complex and beautiful due to aspects of found family as well as the protagonist slowly becomes an antihero questioning the establishment.




0 views0 comments

Kommentare


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page