top of page

A Deadly Education

Updated: Jul 21, 2022

The book that pulled me out of a LONG 4 year reading slump! I am unbelievably thankful to Naomi Novik. During that time, I didn't feel like myself anymore. Nothing could spark joy, the distractions and fantasies did not seem worth the energy that reading demanded. Depressed, with a numb mind, only sleep did anything for me. I've come a long way in the past decade and especially since 2020. I like to believe that the recent improvements have been in part due to my rediscovery of my love for literature and its magic. I am looking forward to the final part of the Scholomance trilogy as I plan on binging through part 2 & 3 as soon as I can get my hand on the final part this September.


A Deadly Education (by Naomi Novic)

Published in 2020


 

Let's start with my reading records before getting into the book:


  • I started the book on the 22nd June 2021 and finished it on the 25th June 2021.

  • Out of those 4 days I had 3 active reading days.

  • My edition had 313 pages

  • 13 Chapters


Great read! Gave it a score of 4.5/5 *

Tags:

Fantasy; Academia; Magic; Enemies to Lovers

Trigger warnings:

Death; Violence; Murder; Gore; Black Magic


 

This read was surprisingly more on the scarier side than what I'm used to, butttttttttt it was fantastic. The first sentence, paragraph, page, everything intrigued me and I just knew that I had to read on. I might be overly attached to the book because it pulled me out of my slump and gave me exactly what I needed. It doesn't really matter either way because I loved it. The story was easy to follow, the writing had a good flow and considering that this very book sparked my best friend's love for reading. I know that others may have issues with Novik's writing style because it is very character rather than plot driven. I enjoyed reading about the limitations of this magic system because those limitations are what keeps me on edge. 100% recommended.





1 view0 comments

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page