top of page

Ace of Spades

Updated: Jun 26, 2022

Considering this is a new blog, I might as well use this first review to write about the most recent book I read.

Ace of Spades (by Faridah Abiké-Íyímídé)

Published in 2021

 

Let’s start with my reading records before getting into the book:

  • I started the book on the 21st June 2022 and finished it on the 23rd June 2022.

  • Out of those 3 days I had 3 active reading days.

  • The edition I read had 470 pages.

  • 47 Chapters + Epilogue


(This might not make much sense just yet, but basically I record the time I start and finish a book, as well as, on how many of those days I actually sat down for a brief or not so brief time to read).

I adored the book! Gave it a score of 5/5 * Tags: Fiction; Academia; Private School; High School; POC; Black Representation; African Representation: Nigerian; LGBT+ Trigger warnings: Systematic Racism; Homophobia; Forced Outing; Bullying: Emotional & Physical; Mention of attempted suicide; Loved ones in prison; Death; Poverty; Drugs

 

It was quite the heavy book due to its eerie atmosphere. Despite being fiction, many aspects of the story hit close to home for many people of colour (POC). The feeling of being othered and struggling to fit in, pretending to be someone, something else. As both a POC and neurodiverse, I have always masked my true self to the point of losing sight of who I was. Therefore, the book validates the afflictions caused by racism as the rich are not spared by them.





7 views0 comments

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page