top of page

It's Kind Of A Funny Story

This is with most certainty one of my all-time favourite comfort reads. The numbness, the struggles to stay rational, and the fear of not being good enough are satisfyingly relatable. I have read this book over 6 times since I bought it years ago. Thus, I have no records on how long it actually took me to read it each time. The thing that is engraved into my mind though, is that I was suspended in time.


It's Kind Of A Funny Story (by Ned Vizzini)

Published in 2006


 

Let’s start with the reading records of the book:


The edition I read had 444 pages.

50 chapters


 

Emotional but in a most comforting way! Gave it a score of 5/5 * Tags:

Contemporary; Fiction; Mental Health

Trigger Warning:

Attempted suicide; Depression; Self-harm; Eating Disorder; Mental Hospital; Depression; Academic pressure; Suicide; Medication; Antidepressants


 

Even though the novel revolved around the serious topic of mental health and depression, it was quite uplifting (and that not only due to it not ending in tragedy) The novel did not latch onto the weight of depression but rather how it affects 'trivial' aspects of life such as eating, sleeping, or rationality. That's why it is such a relatable story because many who have or suffer with depression understand the daily impacts that it has on you. Rather than being philosophical or intangible, it is clear and straightforward. The exact things that grand comfort during times of uncertainty.






0 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page