top of page

Feeling stuck while reading

Updated: Jul 2, 2022

Since today is one of those days where reading is even slower than usual, I felt like reading some mangas instead. While at The Lost Apothecary it took me 30 minutes to read 14 pages, which despite the relatively short chapters, felt like I was getting nowhere.

So out of boredom and curiosity I did a reading speed test. I used the free wpm test on readinglength.com which also calculates how much time one would take for a book depending on your reading speed (wpm).


For context it appears that read at 127 wpm while an average reader is usually around 250 wpm. Putting this knowledge into perspective with The Lost Apothecary, readinglength.com suggests that an average reader would spend 5h & 52min on the 352 pages with 88k words. It will take me on the other hand about 11h & 22min to read the same amount.


I guess at least, now, I understand how some people can do readathons where they finish more than 1 book in a day. All good though since it is not the speed that matters but rather the enjoyment. But I gotta say that page and font size do affect the flow of speed and enjoyment quite extremely (especially when the font is also anything other than your favourite one).





0 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page