top of page

Update: Chronic illness

Heyya people, it's been a while since I felt like posting or rather writing in general. It's been a few tough weeks recently. As those who might follow me on Instagram might know, my dog was not well the last month and it took a while for him to get better. A change in diet and loads of meds prescribed by the vet helped him become more like old self again. As my family was already suspecting, the vet confirmed that he most likely suffers from canine cognitive dysfunction also known as canine dementia. Despite this he is physically well, or physically well again rather since he refused to eat for multiple days and suffered heavily from incontinence. I know this might be tmi but I don't really care since this blog is mostly for myself anyway, and I am most certain that he is not the only senior dog suffering with dementia as it is actually quite common. I wish that I would have known about the signs earlier to make life easier for him, as it more difficult for him than us.


Apart from that there have been quite a few interesting revelations for myself as well. Guess the Tumblr memes were right about one chronic illness rarely coming alone. It is not sure yet since I'll have to go through more testing but considering my family's history, it is very likely that the doctor is right on the nose with the suspected endometriosis. And as if that weren't enough, I finally had to spare the money for a cgm (continuous glucose monitor) for my reactive hypoglycaemia because I nearly passed out in a shop after having previously eaten a damn potato salad. Fortunately, I wasn't alone and some kind people helped me out by giving me a free coke and helping my mother walk me to the car... but it was more than enough to scare me into that one memory where I had a seizure due to low sugar. Got myself a freestyle fibre this very same day and it is highly interesting to observe my sugar levels throughout the day, not having to worry about going low without noticing. It does suck though that CGMs don't get reimbursed by healthcare insurances if you are not diabetic or suffer from too high blood sugar.


Please do tell me why low blood sugar isn't considered life threatening enough when it can literally cause seizures, organ failure or death. Last time I was low and unable to get up or even get myself food that would be needed to raise my sugar, I was recommended to go to the hospital cause my body could go int ketosis, organ failure. Obviously my dumbass was too scared to go alone and hence, decided that I would be fine just sleeping it out while relying on Deliveroo. Big surprise to everyone, that obviously did not work out. You see this incident happened a few months ago and i would wish I learned anything from it but I still don't eat more/every few hours when left on my own for multiple weeks. So overall, cooking task paralysis combined with depression and reduced hunger are definitely not great when you have reactive hypoglycaemia.


So there you go, quite the eventful break I had there. But I am glad to be back and hope that productivity will come and find me soon again.






3 views0 comments

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page