top of page

Welcome to my very first post

Updated: Jun 27, 2022


This post marks the beginning of me tackling my anxiety of other people reading my writing.

Like many mood readers probably do, I tend to ignore my TBR and go for whatever feels right at the moment. That combined with my talent for procrastination means I don’t always reach my reading goals for the month nor year.
That’s were this lovely blog comes into play. Why not try to hold myself accountable by updating this as I go along?

To be honest, due to mental health as well as social struggles, I lost sight of who I was for the past years. This lead to the loss of one of my favourite hobbies, reading. I mourned the loss but never did anything about it until I learned about my own neurodivergence, a couple years back. I have since rediscovered my love for reading and started to keep track of my progress last year.

Despite the occasional dips and breaks from reading (especially during the academic year) I have always come back and binged through a bunch of novels. I still wonder what might cause these episodes. Maybe reading stops giving me dopamine for a while, making me switch to video games before that stops being interesting, leading me to circle through other activities before eventually getting back to reading and games? Or maybe what I like to compare my state of mind during the academic year can best be described by an analogy. Many might know this feeling when you finally decide to clean your room… but the moment you are told to do so, the desire to clean, dissipates. That’s how reading feels like during a literature degree. Or at least that’s how I usually explain it, do with that as you will.

But let’s get back to introducing the concept of the blog. I eventually plan on adding the books I have read and enjoyed before 2021s records as well. However, since I did not record the days it took me to read those, I shall have to go over them once more.
I hope my rating system will make sense fairly soon and I will update it as I go along and figure out what works best for me.

P.S I am not good at being fully casual so most if not all of my posts will be an odd mix between casual and formal. Nevertheless, I hope that people can find comfort in this.




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page